skip to main content

English

Overview

Overview iconOverviewtitle

Our English Department is committed to a rigorous course of study. Our goal is to foster critical thinking and a lifelong love of literature and learning. The Sequoia Union High School District English course of study is aligned with the Common Core Standards and Framework. The standards are composed of objectives for each grade level in the areas of language, critical thinking, speaking, writing, listening and reading, all based on the study of significant literature and non-fiction from various cultures and eras. Our English department is committed to teach to the standards. Students must pass four years of English to graduate; all courses are two semesters in duration.

Ninth-grade students are initially placed in classes based on the Gates-McGinitie reading test and teacher recommendations. However, students can remain at a current level or move up a level depending on their work ethic and skill level (as determined by the grade and teacher recommendation in the class)
English Teachers

English_Teachers icon
English Teachers
title

 

Name                           

 

Subjects

 

Classroom

 

Email

Adams, Eric

AS English II, Eng Int I

G-8

eadams@seq.org

Angelone, Maria

Creative Writing

C-12

mangelone@seq.org

Bathauer, Danette

Drama 1, 2, & 3, Stagecraft

C-16

dbathauer@seq.org

Bryant, Sherinda

English III, English I

E-7

sbryant@seq.org

Choe, Susie

AS English II, Int ELA

G-7

schoe@seq.org

Duarte, Michael

English III, English IV

H-4

mduarte@seq.org

Hunt, Jason English IV, Eng Int II G-15 jhunt@seq.org
Gerth, Anton
Department Head
English II, English IV
G-5 agerth@seq.org

Gill, Lara

English I

G-9

lgill@seq.org

Keigher, Kat AS English III, English III D-24  kkeigher@seq.org
Kelly, Livija AS English I, English II D-6 lkelly@seq.org
Korman, Abigail Eng Int II, ELA II G-14 akorman@seq.org

LaPine, Katelyn

English III

C-16, B-22

klapine@seq.org

McBlair, John

AP Language, Speech & Debate, Journalism

G-6

jmcblair@seq.org

Mercer, Laura

English II

B-22

lmercer@seq.org

Meyerhoff, Monica

AS English II, ELA II

P-4

mmeyerhoff@seq.org

Morgan, Cat

Eng Int, AS English I

G-1

cmorgan@seq.org

Nelson, JP

AS English II, ELAIII

G-2

jpnelson@seq.org

Otsuka, Lisa

AP English Lit, Psychology

C-11

lotsuka@seq.org

Paz, Joe

Academy English II & III

P-2

jpaz@seq.org             
Rios, Elaine ELA II C-2 erios@seq.org
Rosenberg, David  AP Literature, English IV P-4, E-3 drosenberg@seq.org

Strub, Liane

AP Language, AP Art History

C-15

lstrub@seq.org

Tajima, Susan

ELA I, English II

C-14

stajima@seq.org

Todd, Kelly

English I Support, English I

E-20

ktodd@seq.org

Ventura, Ana

Creative Writing

G-9

aventura@seq.org

Walsh, Erin English I, English III   ewalsh@seq.org
Wan, Rachel AS English I, English I G-4 rwan@seq.org