skip to main content

Academic Resource

Overview

Overview icon
Overview
title

Menlo-Atherton offers an amazing special education program that supports over 300 M-A students. Our Academic Resource team includes 17 highly qualified teachers, 33 Paraeducators and Instructional Associates, 2 School Psychologists, and 2 Speech and Language therapists. We work collaboratively with each other, fellow general education teachers, and the administration to provide the most positive high school experience for our students.
 
Menlo-Atherton has four (4) specialized education programs. Each program is designed to support students and their particular needs.  
 
Here are the specialized programs provided at M-A.
  • Resource Specialist Program (RSP)
  • STARS - Successful Transition Achieved with Responsive Support
  • Independent Living Skills (ILS)  
  • Social Academic Class (SAC)
 
 
Academic Resource Teachers

Academic_Resource_Teachers icon
Academic Resource Teachers
title


Name


Subjects


Classroom


Email

Chavez, Carla

Department Head, Study Skills & Co-Teach

D-4

cchavez@seq.org

Cristerna, Art

Study Skills & Co-Teach English IV

D-8

acristerna@seq.org

Fakahau, Jacinta  Study Skills & Social Academic Class C-13 jfakahau@seq.org
Flores, Karina Study Skills & Co-Teach Ethnic Studies G-13 kflores@seq.org

Gittes, Julia

Study Skills & Co-Teach Chemistry

D-7

jgittes@seq.org

Kirk, Scott

Study Skills, STARS

H-2

skirk@seq.org

Komure, Jaimie

Study Skills & Co-Teach Biology

D-9

jkomure@seq.org

Lorenzo, Valeria

Study Skills & Co-Teach Int.Math

E-6

vlorenzo@seq.org

Milia, Cary

Study Skills & Co-Teach US History

D-7

cmilia@seq.org

Molieri, Mike

STARS

H-1

mmolierie@seq.org

Nocedal, Elisa

Study Skills & Co-Teach English III

E-3

enocedal@seq.org

Price, Susan

Independent Living Skills

E-25

sprice@seq.org

Rubin, Laurin

Study Skills & Co-Teach Chemistry

P-3

lrubin@seq.org

Soto, Alex

Study Skills & Co-Teach Int. Math

E-5

asoto@seq.org

Soto, Christy

Independent Living Skills

E-26

csoto@seq.org

Stuart, Andrew

Study Skills, & Co-Teach Gov/Econ

P-5

astuart@seq.org

Winnen, Allison 

Study Skills & Co-Teach Mod. Euro

D-8

awinnen@seq.org


 

 
School Psychologists

School_Psychologists icon
School Psychologists
title



Name


 Title


Locations


Email

Clark, Martin

 School Psychologist

G-3

 mclark@seq.org

LLinas, Daniel 

 School Psychologist

G-3

 dllinas@seq.org


 

 
Speech and Language Pathologists 

Speech_and_Language_Pathologists  icon
Speech and Language Pathologists 
title



Name


 Title


Locations


Email

 Lee, Josephine 

 Speech and Language Pathologists 

B-8

 jolee@seq.org

 Villalobos, Emily

 Speech and Language Pathologists 

B-8

 evillalobos@seq.org


 

 
Resource Specialist

Resource_Specialist icon
Resource Specialist
title

Resource Specialist (RSP)
 
The RSP program at M-A is designed to provide academic support to students with special needs, provide access to the general education curriculum, and focus on supporting individual student needs. There are a total of twelve RSP teachers and fourteen paraeducators in the program.m.
STARS - Therapeutic Resource Program

STARS_-_Therapeutic_Resource_Program icon
STARS - Therapeutic Resource Program
title

The STARS program at M.A. is designed to provide academic and social/emotional support for students with special needs. There are two teachers and four instructional associates that support the program.

Teacher

Scott Kirk

Mike Molieri

 
Independent Living Skills

Independent_Living_Skills icon
Independent Living Skills
title

The ILS program is designed to support students with more intensive special needs. The classes are designed to provide academic life skills to students with varying disabilities. All academic classes, along with driver’s education, and adaptive and modified P.E. are taught in this program. There are two teachers and fifteen paraeducators and instructional associates. 

Teacher
Susan Price

Christy Soto

Social Academic Class

Social_Academic_Class icon
Social Academic Class
title

The SAC program is primarily designed to assist and support students with high functioning autism, Asperger’s Disorder, PDD-NOS, and other social pragmatic concerns. The program is intended to aid students in developing social pragmatic skills in both the public and private spheres. Students learn about the importance of how social skills, critical thinking skills, and independence skills can positively impact their lives throughout high school and beyond. There is one teacher and one paraeducator for the SAC. 

Teacher
Jacinta Fakahau-RSP