OverviewTop of Page

Menlo-Atherton offers an amazing special education program that supports over 200 M-A students. Our team includes 12 highly qualified teachers, 19 instructional associates, our school psychologist, and our speech and language therapist.

We work collaboratively with each other, fellow general education teachers, and the administration to provide the most positive high school experience for our students.

Our Programs:
M-A has four special education programs. Each program is designed to support students and their particular needs.

Resource Specialist (RSP)
STARS  - Therapeutic Resource Program
Independent Living Skills
Social Academic Class (SAC)

Academic Resource TeachersTop of Page



Name


Subjects


Classroom


Email

Basquez, Joel

Study Skills & Co-Teach US History

B-5, D-9

jbasquez@seq.org

Chavez, Carla

Study Skills & Co-Teach

D-2, E-6

cchavez@seq.org

Cristerna, Art

Study Skills & STARS English

D-8, H-4

acristerna@seq.org

Kirk, Scott

Co-Department Head, STARS

H-2

skirk@seq.org

Lorenzo, Valeria

Study Skills

G-3

vlorenzo@seq.org

Milia, Cary

Study Skills

D-7, E-7

cmilia@seq.org

Mohammed, Shaheen

Co-Department Head, Study Skills  &             Co-Teach English II

G-3

smohammed@seq.org

Molieri, Mike

STARS

H-1

mmolierie@seq.org

Nocedal, Elisa

Study Skills & Co-Teach Algebra

E-6, D-16

enocedal@seq.org

Price, Susan

Independent Living Skills

E-25

sprice@seq.org

Rubin, Laurin

Study Skills

G-3, F-15

lrubin@seq.org

Soto, Alex

Study Skills & Co-Teach Algebra

D-9, D-17

asoto@seq.org

Soto, Christy

Independent Living Skills

E-26

csoto@seq.org

Stuart, Andrew

Study Skills, & Co-Teach Mod Euro History

D-7, G-11

astuart@seq.org

Taylor-Smith, Jennifer

Study Skills, Interim Math & Social Studies

D-8

jtaylorsmith@seq.org

Wong, Ashley

Study Skills & Co-Teach English III

D-13

awong@seq.org



Resource SpecialistTop of Page

Resource Specialist (RSP)
The RSP program at M-A is designed to provide academic support to students with special needs, provide access to the general education curriculum, and focus on supporting individual student needs. There are a total of six RSP teachers and six instructional associates in the program.

STARS - Therapeutic Resource ProgramTop of Page

The Stars program at M.A. is designed to provide academic and social/emotional support for students with special needs. There are two teachers and five instructional associates that support the program.

Teacher

Scott Kirk

Mike Molieri

 

Independent Living SkillsTop of Page

This program is designed to support students with more intensive special needs. The classes are designed to provide academic life skills to students with varying disabilities. All academic classes, along with driver’s education, and adaptive and modified P.E. are taught in this program. There are two teachers and five instructional associates.

Teacher
Susan Price

Christy Soto

Social Academic ClassTop of Page

The SAC program is primarily designed to assist and support students with high functioning autism, Asperger’s Disorder, PDD-NOS, and other social pragmatic concerns. The program is intended to aid students in developing social pragmatic skills in both the public and private spheres. Students learn about the importance of how social skills, critical thinking skills, and independence skills can positively impact their lives throughout high school and beyond. There is one teacher and four Instructional Associates for the SAC program.

Teacher
Jenn Taylor Smith